IATF LOGOCreated with Sketch.

The International Axe Throwing Federation (IATF)

Qualification to the IATC

To qualify for the International Axe Throwing Championships players must qualify via four possible routes for IATC Round 1 to advance to the Final Round.

Qualification for International Axe Throwing Championship Round 1 is possible via four routes:

  1. Winning a Regional Tournament

  2. Earning a spot in the top 4 Champion Points of a axe throwing league (The Top 4 Rule)

  3. Having an average of 70 or better in three non-concurrent axe throwing league seasons (The 70 Rule)

  4. Winning a Wild Card Tournament


Regional tournaments are one day double elimination tournaments for axe throwing competition within a single regional division to qualify for Round 1 of the IATC.


Champions Points are awarded at the end of every regulation axe throwing league season and totaled at the end of the calendar year. The top 4 Champions Points earners in each IATF league qualify for Round 1 of the IATC.

​Four players will qualify from each league. The top 4 players, ranked by Champion Points earned in a league, qualify to represent that league. Players that have already qualified by winning a Regional tournament are removed from consideration, meaning a league's top 4 may adjust, with the fifth player moving into the top 4 if a regional winner is removed.

​Players are encouraged to play in multiple axe throwing leagues, however a player can qualify to represent only one league (called their Home league). If a player is among the top 4 players, ranked by Champion Points, of more than one league, their Home league becomes the league where they earned the most Champion Points; they represent that league and the player is removed from consideration from the other leagues, meaning the other leagues' top 4 adjust, with the fifth player moving into the top 4.

Each league is separate as far as qualification is concerned. In general, axe throwers cannot move Champion Points from one league to another to increase their total. If a player wishes to move their Champion Points as they change leagues, the player can request that their move be recognized by the International Axe Throwing Federation at the time of the move. Recognition of a move is at the discretion of the IATF.

International Axe Throwing Federation recognition of moves is a new concept introduced in 2018. It is intended to support players with a legitimate change to the physical venue where they play or to the day of the week in the event of time conflicts. It is also intended to avoid some potentially unfair scenarios that can occur when the transfer of Champion Points is less managed.

If a player has earned the same total Champion Points in more than one axe throwing league, the player's Home league becomes the league where they played more seasons. In the event of further ties, they are broken by Victory Points (Wins = 2, OTLs = 1), then total score, then matches won, then by high score.

3. THE 70 RULE

This route is intended to ensure that skilled players in competitive leagues are given an opportunity to qualify. To qualify under the 70 Rule, an axe thrower must not have already qualified via a Regional Tournament. To qualify, a player must throw an average of 70 or better in three non-concurrent seasons. The three seasons do not have to be back-to-back, nor do they have to be in the same league night; but they have to occur within one organization and they must be in three separate time frames.


The winners of the Wildcard Tournament qualify for IATC Round 1. Only players that haven't yet qualified are eligible to compete.

IATC Final Round Ranking

Following the International Axe Throwing Championship, Round 1, to determine advancing players' tournament seed rank for the IATC Final Round, they are sorted by Champions Points earned throughout the year. Players' Champion Points for this ranking include up to 5 league seasons. All Champion Points earned in a player’s Home league are included. Players’ Champion Points from another league, earned while absent from their Home league, are also included. If, while absent from their Home league, a player earned Champion Points in more than one league, the single highest result by season is included.

All participating member organizations will send through a percentage of competitors equal to the percentage of leagues they represent within the International Axe Throwing Federation.

The IATF Champs Points System

Champions Points are awarded to players at the end of every league season, as summarized below, based on where they place at the end of regulation (Week 7) play:

Group 3Created with Sketch.


If two players are tied for Champions Points, then Total Score for the calendar year is used to determine the higher seed.


A player may carry their points from one league to another if they switch leagues betweevenue, league colour, or day of the week:

  • This can only happen one time without special approval;

  • Any transfer of points from one organization to another must be approved by the IATF.

If a player throws in multiple leagues, they can only represent themselves once in the IATC tournament and may not be ranked in multiple qualifying positions:

  • The player will be selected to represent the league in which they have the highest amount of Champions Points:

    • A Player's standing will be ignored for any additional leagues in which they participate;

    • e.g. if a Player's second best placement represents 3rd place in a second league, then they are omitted from the standings for that second league and 3rd place is assigned to the next eligible player, etc.

Players are also awarded champions points based on how they finish in their playoff bracket at the end of each league season:


Subscribe To The IATF News

Stay up to date on events in the IATF community.