IATF LOGOCreated with Sketch.

The International Axe Throwing Federation (IATF)

(6.1) The Road To The International Axe Throwing Championships

To qualify for the International Axe Throwing Championships players must qualify via six possible routes for IATC Round 1 to advance to the Final Round.

  1. Being the previous year’s IATC Champion
  2. Winning a Regional Tournament
  3. Earning a spot in the top 8 Champion Points of a Premier Rules axe throwing league (The Top 8 Rule)
  4. Having an average of 70 or better in three non-concurrent axe throwing league seasons (The 70 Rule)
  5. Earning a spot in the top 4 Champion Points of a Standard Rules axe throwing league (The Top 4 Rule)
  6. Winning a Wild Card Tournament 

1. Regional Tournaments

Regional tournaments are a double elimination tournament within a single regional division where the winner will automatically qualify for Round 1 of the IATC. 

2. Top 4 and Top 8 Rules

  1. ​Champions Points are awarded at the end of every regulation axe throwing league season and totaled at the end of the calendar year. The top 4 Champions Points earners in each Standard league and the top 8 Champions points earners in each Premier Rules league qualify for Round 1 of the IATC.
  2. These top players, ranked by Champion Points earned in a league, qualify to represent that league. Players that have already qualified by winning a Regional tournament are removed from consideration, meaning a league’s top 4 may adjust, with the fifth player moving into the top 4 if a regional winner is removed.
  3. Players are encouraged to play in multiple axe throwing leagues, however a player can qualify to represent only one league (called their Home league). If a player is among the top 4 players of more than one league as ranked by Champion Points, their Home league is determined as the league where they earned the most Champion Points. The player represents that home league and the player is removed from consideration from the other leagues, meaning the player’s other leagues’ top 4 will adjust, with the fifth player moving into the top 4.
  4. If a player has earned the same total Champion Points in more than one axe throwing league, the player’s Home league is determined as  the league where they played more seasons. In the event of further ties, they are broken by the following measures, considered in order of importance until there is no further tie: Victory Points (Wins = 2, OTLs = 1), then total score, then matches won, then by high score.

3. Champs Points Moves

** Please note; Due to the COVID-19 crisis, qualification from individual league seasons has been modified. Please keep an eye out for updates from the IATF.

  1. Each league is separate as far as qualification is concerned. In general, axe throwers cannot move Champion Points from one league to another to increase their total. If a player wishes to move their Champion Points as they change leagues, the player can request that their move be recognized by the International Axe Throwing Federation at the time of the move. Recognition of a move is at the discretion of the IATF.
  2. International Axe Throwing Federation recognition of moves was a concept introduced in 2018. It is intended to support players with a legitimate change to the physical venue where they play or to the day of the week in the event of time conflicts. It is also intended to avoid some potentially unfair scenarios that can occur when the transfer of Champion Points is less managed.
  3. Champion Points moves are only recognized within the same organization. If a player moves to another organization, any Champion Points moves must be submitted to the IATF for approval. 

4. The 70 Rule

  1. This route to IATC contention is intended to ensure that skilled players in competitive leagues are given an opportunity to qualify. To qualify under the 70 Rule, an axe thrower must not have already qualified via a Regional Tournament. To qualify, a player must throw an average of 70 or better in three seasons during the IATC qualifying year. The three seasons do not have to be back-to-back, nor do they have to be in the same league night or ruleset (please note; only Standard and Premier rulesets are considered); but they have to occur within one organization and they must be in three separate time frames over the course of that calendar year.

5. Wildcard Tournament 

  1. The winners of the Wildcard Tournament qualify for IATC Round 1. Only players that haven’t yet qualified (by the previous means outlined above) are eligible to compete. *See Wild Card Tournament.

Subscribe To The IATF News

Stay up to date on events in the IATF community.