IATF LOGOCreated with Sketch.

The International Axe Throwing Federation (IATF)

(2.1) Playoff Format

Standard league playoffs are a 16 person double elimination tournament:

  1. Double Elimination means players must lose twice to be eliminated from the tournament. See Image 4 below
  2. The final match will always be between 1 undefeated competitor and a competitor that has suffered 1 previous loss:
    1. This means the player entering with a previous loss must defeat the undefeated player in two full sets to constitute two losses.
  3. Brackets 1 through 6 of playoffs are best 3 out of 5.
  4. Brackets 7 through finals are best 4 out of 7.
  5. The top seeded competitor in each playoff grouping of four (those currently competing) has choice of the left or right PAIR of lanes for their match:
    1. This does not refer to left or right lane as decided through Rock-Paper-Scissors.


Image 4 (Sub-section 2.1): Double Elimination playoff bracket

The following images represent samples of a standard 16 person double elimination tournament bracket.  The top image is the winners bracket (i.e. ‘A bracket’) and the bottom picture is the losers bracket (i.e. ‘B bracket’); the numbers below each column represent the sequence in which matches should be played.


Subscribe To The IATF News

Stay up to date on events in the IATF community.